Red Orchestra 2 : A Noob’s Tale

No, it is not an expansion pack nor the next entry in the multiplayer franchise. And don’t get your panties in a bunch Red Orchestra fans, i know there’s a “story mode” in the game but it’s there only or as a tutorial for the online modes at most.

But let’s not talk about the singleplayer, I am here to tell you about my adventures on the multiplayer component, and boy is it hard!

I still recall the first time i booted up the game, the first thing that came to me was the game’s high system requirements, or at least its bad optimization… When I bumped everything to the max the game was basically dragging itself below the 20 FPS mark, and it didn’t look that good to justify the bad performance… But i got it working reasonably well by tweaking a few of the options and can now play it smoothly enough!

Another thing that hit me like an atomic shell was the game’s chunkiness! The animation looks stiff and you can even go trough walls or the floor when prone sometimes…

Overall a bad BAD first impression, and it kept me from enjoying the game for quite a while… But I finally made the decision to give the game 1 more try, a final push to squeeze some kind of enjoyment out of it and I can proudly say I did!! After getting my ass handed to me time and again of course…

So there I was, Mauser Kar98K rifle in my hands, shaking in the middle of a trench in the motherland, keeping my head down on a futile attempt not to get it blown off, too afraid to peek outside my little hiding hole when suddenly I heard a shout, someone was right behind me, with feline instincts I turned around and put a bullet  right in the  suckers head! I felt so accomplished… Then i realized he was German… As was I…

What the hell was wrong with me? Wanting to become a hero, I became a war criminal…

The game was so hard and tense I just dropped it and moved on to other titles. A couple of months later I made up my mind to comeback to the battlefield and tried to forget past mistakes and “serve my country” once more, this time on the Allies side.

Keeping the past at bay, there I was, running desperately into a building holding nothing but a pistol in my right hand. Running up the stairs I came face to face with a German soldier, a shadow of my past reminding me of my mistakes, starring at me! He hesitated, had he known what I did in the past he would have shot me down like a rabid dog, but he didn’t know… He didn’t shoot me the moment he saw me, probably wanting to make sure I wasn’t a brother in arms, giving me enough time to pull the trigger! He was gone, a bullet to the heart… I couldn’t dwell on it, making my way up the first floor (and only one on that building, the stairs going up too the upper floors were conveniently blocked by a well placed red sofa) I saw a German machine gunner, unaware of my presence and well positioned on a window, raining down fire on my squad on the street below. Taking this chance, I closed the distance and shot him 3 times in the back, enough to kill him instantly… I was making progress, no more was I the raw private, too afraid to peek outside… I was growing, evolving into a killing machine, effective and relentless, I did not know if this was for the best or worse…

War… War never changes…

One day, feeling confident and arrogant, I made my way up to a friendly tank and though I could just take it for a spin, just drive it around, despite never having learned properly how to do it! A few of my brothers came with me into the war machine, I couldn’t run away now, I couldn’t tell them I didn’t know how to drive the tank, my pride wouldn’t let me…I was going to prove my worth!! How naive of me…  I managed to get it working and moving forward, but soon we got too close too the enemy, and while infantry was dealt with smoothly, an enemy tank was waiting for us on the other end of the street. Death followed with my “comrades” opening fire on the foot soldiers, soon I had to intervene, with my squad yelling over voice chat for me to do something!! To use the main gun on the tank or at least get us out of there, but I was too busy trying to find the correct key bindings to operate the damned tank, fighting my keyboard uselessly; the only thing I achieved was opening and closing the hatch a thousand times, the tank, me and my brothers exposed… I had no excuse, casting aside my pride  I apologized, admitting I was unable to get the tank moving in any direction, we were either blocked or stuck I did not know and not long after that we were all blown to smithereens, and I was to blame… Only me… Again…

Since then, I’ve been dedicating more of my time to perfecting my skills and have discovered that playing it simple is sometimes the best way to achieve your goals! Now, I find a good spot to hold ground, just me and a bunch of ammunition on some rooftop… They call me “The White Death”.

So many have fallen to my deadly aim and so many more will soon follow…

I was once a scared Noob, hiding and cowering beneath cover, but now I face death standing tall!! If someday I fall, I’ll make sure I won’t go down easy and I will take as many bastards with me as I possibly can! After all, we’re fighting a war out there! And war… It never changes…

Ok Ok… I got carried away there… God, I love roleplaying! These small stories, these moments you experience while playing Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad are the things that make this game great! 64 player skirmishes in war torn battlefields give way to some of the most realistic infantry combat you will ever see, it is not for everyone as it has a steep learning curve; and the bugs and overall lack of polish may stir you away, but if you can see past all those flaws, this game is one of the best multiplayer games out there, yes it can be frustrating and infuriating sometimes, but when things start going well and you get the hang of it, it is simply addicting as hell! Just a piece of advice, get a microphone and log in to teamspeak, the experience is so much better when you can talk to your squad, unless you get them all killed… In a tank… Like me….

I will be seing you all out there on the desolate fields of World War II…

Hopefully (for you) not from the other side of the scope…

Leave a Reply

